Log In   |   Sign Up

Advertisement

Scream Acres Reviews

 
« Back To Profile
  • 3260 69th St
  • Atkins, IA
  • 319-446-7667
Details
Average Review
Review Me
Scare Factor
Very Scary
Appropriate For
Suggested for ages 14+
Organization Type
Listing Categories
Haunted Houses, Haunted Mazes / Haunted Corn Mazes, Scream Parks
Review This Haunt
  • Cell Block Z - WOW!

    The whole haunt was amazing! Wasn't thrilled about the long wait but it was worth every dollar and minute once we started walking into each attraction. Our favorite was Cell Block Z the prison full of zombies. Wow! It was a nonstop house of horror! As soon as we stepped inside we were screaming. Loved every minute of it. The actors were awesome! Our favorite for sure!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Challenged our fears

    We had a blast at Scream Acres. Excellent haunted place to challenge the fear and we failed it miserably. Hats-off to actors and actress as they put a fantastic show in scaring all of us. All four attractions are worth visiting, especially the slaughter house. Make sure you bought the fast pass tickets; else it might take two hours standing in the queue.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Save your money

    It had only few scares worth mentioning. Most others were below par. I have been to various haunts and actors screaming at your face is not enough to scare me. For the ticket price paid, I expected more scares, props and scary performance by actors. Total letdown.. save your money.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Will Come Back

    This has been one of the top haunt attractions I have been so far in Iowa. The place has attractions during the day which we missed out. It usually has pig races, picking out pumpkins, feeding the animals, rides and more. But I must say the visit to this place at night is a complete different transformation. The farm is transformed into the scariest and haunted attractions. We visited this place late so could only go for the Carnival Chaos which looked like a demented world of sinister clowns and it was pretty hard to find our way out of this maze. I really wanted to do the Slaughter House and the Corn Field. But we couldn’t. Anyway I will back pretty soon to go for more fears.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Just average scares

    I and my nieces visited Scream Acres.. but the scare factor was just average. There weren’t any bone-chilling scares. We just walked through the trail without anything really scaring us. For the price we paid for tickets, it was a disappointment. I will not recommend this place to anyone.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Fun filled scary experience

    This has been my favorite place for years and always been looking forward to it… Scream Acres Park never ceased to entertain us. With new attractions every year... It was a fun filled and scary experience. Carnival Chaos took us all by surprise…. With its winding mazes and loads of openings.. It was scary and fun filled… laughing, shrieking and screaming were the three expressions that we got use…. We had a blast of time and this is not going to be our last visit.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Quite thrilling haunt

    Long hours of waiting in the line to get into one attraction was a bit tedious … even then the haunt experience was amazing… especially the Cell Block Z. Fighting off the zombie was a terrifying ordeal… the Slaughter House was worth every penny we spent….though short lived… it was quite thrilling. Kids had the utmost fun and are looking forward to it again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Cell Block Z - WOW!

    The whole haunt was amazing! Wasn't thrilled about the long wait but it was worth every dollar and minute once we started walking into each attraction. Our favorite was Cell Block Z the prison full of zombies. Wow! It was a nonstop house of horror! As soon as we stepped inside we were screaming. Loved every minute of it. The actors were awesome! Our favorite for sure!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Challenged our fears

    We had a blast at Scream Acres. Excellent haunted place to challenge the fear and we failed it miserably. Hats-off to actors and actress as they put a fantastic show in scaring all of us. All four attractions are worth visiting, especially the slaughter house. Make sure you bought the fast pass tickets; else it might take two hours standing in the queue.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Save your money

    It had only few scares worth mentioning. Most others were below par. I have been to various haunts and actors screaming at your face is not enough to scare me. For the ticket price paid, I expected more scares, props and scary performance by actors. Total letdown.. save your money.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Will Come Back

    This has been one of the top haunt attractions I have been so far in Iowa. The place has attractions during the day which we missed out. It usually has pig races, picking out pumpkins, feeding the animals, rides and more. But I must say the visit to this place at night is a complete different transformation. The farm is transformed into the scariest and haunted attractions. We visited this place late so could only go for the Carnival Chaos which looked like a demented world of sinister clowns and it was pretty hard to find our way out of this maze. I really wanted to do the Slaughter House and the Corn Field. But we couldn’t. Anyway I will back pretty soon to go for more fears.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Just average scares

    I and my nieces visited Scream Acres.. but the scare factor was just average. There weren’t any bone-chilling scares. We just walked through the trail without anything really scaring us. For the price we paid for tickets, it was a disappointment. I will not recommend this place to anyone.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Fun filled scary experience

    This has been my favorite place for years and always been looking forward to it… Scream Acres Park never ceased to entertain us. With new attractions every year... It was a fun filled and scary experience. Carnival Chaos took us all by surprise…. With its winding mazes and loads of openings.. It was scary and fun filled… laughing, shrieking and screaming were the three expressions that we got use…. We had a blast of time and this is not going to be our last visit.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Quite thrilling haunt

    Long hours of waiting in the line to get into one attraction was a bit tedious … even then the haunt experience was amazing… especially the Cell Block Z. Fighting off the zombie was a terrifying ordeal… the Slaughter House was worth every penny we spent….though short lived… it was quite thrilling. Kids had the utmost fun and are looking forward to it again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Heart thumping experience

    This is not a place for the faint hearted. It was a heart thumping experience at the Scream Acres Park… the long drive paid off when we got into the corn field maze… with ghost, goblins, creatures and reapers popping out at every instance surprising and scaring the shit out of us…. We are definitely coming back again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Freaking scary

    Amazing attraction. Got the VIP package and get through all attractions very quickly. We spend around two hours to visit all four attractions. All of them are excellent, especially the Slaughter House. The inside spatial layout was freaking scary and animatronics was excellent. We screamed, yelled and jumped so many times. Will visit next season.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified OMG...true horror!!

    OMG...definitely a horror park!!! I’ve never seen my wife screaming like that. All actors were draped in creepy costumes and they all did well in scaring us. Definitely worth visiting and just go in group to have more fun. Definitely going again next year!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Total letdown

    I was disappointed by Scream Acres. I and my wife visited the haunt with lots of expectations. And it was a total letdown. There were no scares that would make you scream. The actor’s makeup and costumes were not scare inducing. The set design also requires more professionalism. Avoidable

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Full of terrors and screams

    Enthralling experience in the corn maze, tons of scares and they’ve designed the layout very user-friendly to navigate. Loved the background theme song of mourning and sneak-peeks done by actors were just amazing. Overall, an adrenaline rushing experience with full of terrors. We are definitely visiting again!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Amazing fun

    This was the best Haunted experience ever. You get more scares for your money too. Had the best time!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified A great deal and fun!

    I have gone to Scream Acres every year for over 5 years and I enjoy it every time! I like that they added a fourth haunt which is the "Zombie Cell Block" but I think it needs some work.( Proably because it was their frist year adding this haunt.) Also the corn maze used to be huge and now it’s smaller which was disappointing. I recommend purchasing the VIP tickets if you go the last weekened of the month because it’s a long wait otherwise. Make sure they give you enough time in between your group and the other groups or you miss out on the scare factor, overall it was worth the money and we had a great time!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Terry is Scary!!

    Terry the clown scred the pants off of me...literally.Whoever is in charge of the clowns does an excellent job!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 5 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified To bunched with other groups to be scary

    Couldn't wait to try this haunt, the website boast that it is not for kids under 14. Bought the tickets online, which I would totally recommend because the line to buy tickets on the Sat we went was huge. We also bought the VIP tickets which was slightly pricey but a must if you want to get though all 4 attractions. That got us right in all 4 haunted houses with barely a wait. The staff running the haunts were very friendly. My issue with this place is at each haunted house we were constantly running into the group in front of us and if we tried to wait we were getting ran over by the people behind us! The actors weren't able to reset themselves so that each group could be properly scared. We missed out of a lot of scares because of this! If they are going to ask for $45 dollars per person we shouldn't be rushed through and bunched up. They should have people located through the haunted houses to ensure groups are not all running together. There was some original and great haunted house ideas so I think if we were able to go through the houses as our group of 4, I would have given this place an entirely different rating. I will not however be returning in the future. If you do want to try an AWESOME haunted house, we left here feeling slightly disappointed.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 6 found this review helpful

  • Scary as hell

    Carnival Chaos is the creepiest and scariest thing

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    7 out of 7 found this review helpful

  • PEE MY PANTS!!!

    Always were a maxi-pads, so much screaming and yelling! Good times ... price was never an issue. It's really weird were they know you name......?

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    11 out of 11 found this review helpful

  • So much fun!

    I'm a big fan of haunted houses, huge fan actually and this is one of my favorites. It really is scary and the actors are fantastic! Only downside is the long wait in the cold, last time I went we waited 4 hours in below freezing weather. Wish they could somehow provide heat or shelter of some sort or at least make the lines go quicker, though I do realize why it takes so long.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 45-60 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: No
    Posted October 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    6 out of 7 found this review helpful

  • It could be better

    In the past when I went, they had one that led to all three attractions. Now they have 3 different lines so you can choose what attraction you want to go to. This is nice but now you have to wait in lines even longer. I probably waited in line for a total of 2 hours. The houses were still scary but by the time I got to the front of the line, I just wanted to go home because I was so tired of standing.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    8 out of 8 found this review helpful

  • Great Time

    Wouldn't go as far as saying it was the scariest haunted house I've been to (I still screamed a lot) but it definitely was the most thought out one. Really original and was a blast to go through. Only part I didn't like was how quick they pushed groups through. Every part we caught up with the group ahead of us and the group behind caught up with us too. Also wouldn't say it was worth $20, maybe $15.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 21-30 minutes
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Unsure
    Posted October 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    7 out of 8 found this review helpful

  • Frequent Frighter

    My friends and I go every year, absolutly worth the price!!! Scream Acres is one of my fav. traditions, very scary and loads of awesome scares and thrills! Been to some other haunts, but this is by far the best and scariest place around and the only place I've gone to for years

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 8 found this review helpful

  • Great fun.

    3 attractions to go through. I had so much fun with my family. The corn field was the best part.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 7 found this review helpful

  • scream acres

    scream acres was super scary both of my friends cried!!!! im pumped for this year to go

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    7 out of 8 found this review helpful

  • Scream Acers

    It was the scariest crap I have ever been through. I barely made it through the first house... Have fun sleeping afterword.

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 5 found this review helpful

  • scream acres

    it was the scariest crap ive ever done

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 6 found this review helpful

  • It's worth it

    I have went to several hunted houses and I came out I knew I wasted my money cuz I was expecting more but when I went throught this one I love it it actullay scary and what hunted houses are suppose to be and I got several times and it's scaryer every time $20 is a small price to pay for the best hunted house/corn maze in iowa

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 5 found this review helpful

  • The best I've been to so far.

    Every year my kids and I go looking for a good haunted attraction to try to scare us. Hands down Scream Acres is the best! Three Haunted Attraction for $20.00! Well worth it! It's never a dull moment. Even while waiting in line. There are characters walking around interacting with the customers. Personally I think it's security but they were excellent at making sure to stay in character. My two teens request every year now to come here! They enjoy the whole show! From laughter to horrific screams! Three live action attractions with plenty of people working and loving every minute of it. Scream Acres would get 10 pumpkins if allowed. Keep up the great work! PS: Just read on there FB page it's all new this year! OH BOY! OH BOY! OH BOY!

    Posted September 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Awesome!!

    Outstanding haunt! Great actors! Three haunts for $20.00 was a great deal! They change every year! Very Cool!!

    Posted September 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • chainsaws

    alll I can say is do not answer with polo when one actor wants to play Marco Polo. I pissed my self but it was well worth it and the monkey was funny as hell!! will be back next year for sure!!!

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 5 found this review helpful

  • Best haunted attraction around !

    If you only make it to one haunted attraction this year make it this one! Not only is it the longest around, but it changes every year and just keeps getting better. The costumes are top notch, with lots of actors with contacts, prosthetic makeup and hollywood quality silicone masks. There had to be 50 people working the night I went, way more than the other haunted houses in the area. I don't think it gets any better than this place!

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 5 found this review helpful

  • Worth the price

    $20 a ticket and that gets you through 2 haunted houses(barns) that are 7-10 mins in length each. Then you also get to go through a haunted corn maze that takes around 20 minutes. My gf had a good time so I thought it was worth it. The clowns sucked, but I think they're pretty horrible everywhere.

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?